The COVID-19 pandemic has had an impact on every facet of our lives and child care is no exception. The closures of Wyoming schools and child care facilities in March, 2020 emphasized the significance of child care as an imperative component of economic stability. We recognize that the limited ability to access child care services during the COVID-19 pandemic adds additional burdens on parents and families.
Effective October 1, 2020, the COVID-19 Child Care Relief program has been established to assist Wyoming families with additional child care costs that have been incurred as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. This program is not based on income eligibility. Instead, in the COVID-19 Child Care Relief program, the following criteria must be met to access child care relief dollars:
- Wyoming residency.
- Demonstrated increase in child care expenses as a result of COVID-19 child care/school closures. Examples of increased child care expenses include: additional or unanticipated child care expenses for children that would have otherwise been attending school; holding fees for children to secure slots at child care facilities while they were closed; or the additional cost for child care for children while parents/guardians were working.
A few things to know about the funding:
- The COVID-19 Child Care Relief program is funded by CARES (Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security) dollars. These are subject to federal and state review. Documentation regarding the information provided may be requested.
- These funds are considered taxable. W-9 information is requested as part of the application. Also, 1099s for these funds will be sent at the beginning of 2021.
- All information submitted under the Child Care Relief program is subject to the Wyoming Public Records Act and may be disclosed.
- The maximum allotment amounts are listed below:
|Number of Children||Maximum Allotment Amounts|
|3 or more||$1,900|
To watch a video about the program which addresses many questions or to walk through the application process, please click the video link here.
Wyoming Child Care Relief program Frequently Asked Questions
The program will be available starting October 1, 2020 and will operate while funding is available or until December 30, 2020, whichever occurs first.
No. This relief is available to anyone who experienced an increase in child care expenses due to COVID-19.
Yes. This is intended for current Wyoming residents only.
Within 15 business days from when your application was submitted.
No, unfortunately only physical checks will be mailed to the applicant.
Yes, this would be considered a holding fee and if it caused your child care fees/expenses to increase between March and September, you are eligible for relief.
Yes, an in-house babysitter while the parent is remotely attending school or working.
They may be if you are audited.
Yes. If you were paying more for child care beginning in March than you were previously, you are eligible for this funding even if you were paying a family member. Documentation may be requested.
A simple letter from the babysitter listing the hours and amount paid would suffice.
This would qualify for a relief payment. Just put $0 on the application for February and
then how much you paid each month after that you had child care expenses.
$700 for 1 child, $1400 for 2 children, $1,900 for 3 or more children.
This relief is considered income and will be taxable.
No, this program only covers increases in child care expenses incurred as a result of COVID-19.
The COVID-19 Child Care Relief Program (CCRP) is funded with CARES dollars that were received by the State of Wyoming. The Office of the Treasury published guidance regarding the use of these dollars, which includes the following:
- "The CARES Act provides that payments from the Fund may only be used to cover costs that: 1. are necessary expenditures incurred due to the public health emergency with respect to the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19);"
In order to comply with this guidance, the CCRP considers additional child care expenses to be the "necessary expenditures incurred".
For additional questions, please email firstname.lastname@example.org or call (307) 777-5819.
To view the Child Care Relief policy guidelines, click here.