The Resource, Referral, and Technical Assistance Unit is offering information, tools, indivualized training, and other supports to Child Care facilities by request. TA Coaches bring together resources from Child Care Licensing and many early childhood experts to assist child care providers with specific issues or to assist in improving the overall quality of their program.
To learn more and to schedule a consultation with a TA Coach, please contact one of the following individuals:
Penny Hotovec 307-754-2245 ext. 22. email@example.com
Tania Trujillo 307-777-7290, firstname.lastname@example.org
Stoney Busch 307-473-3933, email@example.com email DFSCCTA@wyo.gov
Suspension & Expulsion Policy Tool Kit
WY Quality Counts
The WY Quality Counts! Program is housed in the Wyoming State Department of Workforce Services.The goal of the program is to raise awareness about why quality child care matters for Wyoming’s children, their families and our future. With funding from the Wyoming State Legislature, this program also provides scholarships, grants and training to Wyoming’s early childhood industry.
Quality early care, whether at home or outside the home, is more than a safe and nurturing place for children. Quality programs prepare children for success by using developmentally-appropriate teaching methods and materials to develop cognitive, language, social/emotional, and motor skills.
Providing Care for Children Receiving Subsidy
To receive payment for child care services, you must either be a licensed provider or legally exempt from licensing. If you are exempt from licensing, you must meet to following conditions to be eligible to receive payment:
- You must be 18 years.
- You must reside in Wyoming.
- Assure that all children in your care are currently immunized and keep a copy of the child’s immunization record in your home.
- You must have an operable phone and smoke detector or fire alarm system at the place where care is provided (Note: a phone may not be required if care is provided in the child’s home and a phone is available nearby).
- Agree to lock up all weapons, ammunition, poisons, chemicals, bleach and cleaning materials to make them inaccessible to children.
- You must submit verification that you are currently certified in infant/child CPR and first aid within 90 days of the date you began to care for a child for payment from DFS.
- All adult household members and any substitute provider(s) who have access to the children in care must submit signed releases and receive favorable background checks from the Central Registry and the Division of Criminal Investigation.
How Do I Become Registered to Receive Payment?
Both licensed and unlicensed providers must submit a completed Provider Registration and a completed Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification to your local DFS office.
Preschool Development Grant
Wyoming was awarded a Preschool Development Grant and subsequent Renewal Grant to develop programs and initiatives that will support families with young children and early childhood professionals. Read about the plans and outcomes, find unique resources developed under the grant and learn about quality care and education for Wyoming’s children here.
The OKAY Manual is a Resource for Wyoming Caregivers
Through their dedication and commitment to quality care and
education, child care providers are working for Wyoming’s
future. Wyoming is fortunate to have a strong group of loving,
dedicated, and hard working early childhood professionals.
This manual is dedicated to these individuals who touch the lives of children every day.